The Challenge.

Not being one to do things by halves. I’ve set myself a challenge. I’m going to climb Mt Kilimanjaro in 8 months time. The tallest free standing mountain in the world. Sounds daunting right? The trek is 5895m over eight days. This doesn’t phase me at all, probably because I can’t even fathom how high it is. In fact before I signed up to do this I wasn’t even sure what continent it was in. Africa, apparently – Tanzania. I’m reassured that it is not climbing with ropes and harnesses and things but more of a strenuous marathon stroll in an upwards direction. Hey, I figure if Cheryl Cole and co. can do it so can I. What I do find pretty scary is how to raise the €5000 I need to do it.

The money raised will go towards funding for emergency accommodation for parents of premature babies. To be separated from my newborn would be my worst nightmare and unfortunately at present there is no accommodation for parents in the three Dublin maternity hospitals that contain the country’s neonatal intensive care units. Parents must raise the money themselves to stay in private accommodation or else are forced to be separated from their tiny ill newborn who’s wellbeing depends on its mother’s touch. The Facebook page is here Climb for Prem Babies

Here you can follow my journey as I try to raise the funds needed and get myself in physical condition to climb my highest mountain yet.

There are many ways you can help.

  • I’m hoping that this blog will gain enough momentum to be worth some corporate sponsorship so please like, share and comment on it as much as possible.
  • I will be arranging charity nights with raffles etc in the months after Christmas, so if you are in a position to donate something as a spot prize or offer me a location please do. also please come along. I promise to make them as much fun as possible.
  • If you are in a band or dancetroupe or are a musician and are willing to offer your services, I will be looking for entertainers for these evenings. Please get in touch
  • Or you can donate cold hard cash. Any amount will help. The donate button is over there to the right.

Also, if you have any other fundraising ideas I might be able to use please add them in the comments. Thank you so much for your support.

Jenny

Leave a Reply

